Ursuline Wins Conference Award of Excellence from NCAA

Ursuline College was named the Great Midwest Athletic Conference Division II Award of Excellence winner for its work with the A.R.R.O.W.S. (Academic Readiness Requires Outstanding Work and Support) Mentoring Program, the NCAA announced.

The A.R.R.O.W.S. Mentoring Program intends to provide Ursuline College students, many of whom are student-athletes, an opportunity to mentor Warrensville Heights High School students while offering them support through the completion of high school and encouragement to pursue postsecondary education. It is the aim of the program to engage both students at Ursuline and Warrensville Heights High School in a partnership that promotes academic success and fosters ambition for further education.

From the spring semester of their freshman year to the completion of their senior year, each high school student participates in one goal setting workshop per year facilitated by the A.R.R.O.W.S. coordinator and student mentors. During each goal setting workshop, students explore career interests, college readiness and study skills.

Ursuline College believes these workshops serve as important resources for the students at Warrensville Heights High School as it provides them with foundational knowledge and sets forth expectations of what a student can expect in college and in their chosen career. The program works to ensure that the students at Warrensville Heights High School are provided with the tools and resources so as to be proficient academic achievers.

The top three finalists for the NCAA Division II Award of Excellence and overall winner will be announced during the business session at the 2014 NCAA Convention.

Division II 2013 Award of Excellence Conference Winners
CACC – Concordia College
CCAA – University of California, San Diego
CIAA – Virginia Union University
ECC – Dowling College
GAC – Arkansas Tech University
GLIAC – Michigan Technological University
G-MAC – Ursuline College
GNAC – University of Mary
GSC – Christian Brothers University
Heartland – Texas A & M International University
Independents – Palm Beach Atlantic University
LSC – Lone Star Conference
MEC – Notre Dame College
MIAA – Lindenwood University
NE-10 – Adelphi University
NSIC – Northern State University
PBC – University of Montevallo
PSAC – Kutztown University
PWC – Chaminade University of Honolulu
RMAC – Adams State University
SAC – Wingate University
SIAC – Benedict College
SSC – Lynn University

Leave a Reply

Post Navigation